Week 14: Video Games and Platform Studies

When analyzing the relationships between video games and some of the other media we have looked at in class this semester, I see quite a few similarities.  Some of the narrative pieces and poetry that were interactive were kind of like a video game.  When the reader is able to interact with the poetry, the reader is more captivated and their attention is more focused on the narrative.  The best example I can think of this is the most recent one, which is the poem, “Today I Die.”  This was easily the most interactive literature I had ever seen.

To be honest, I’ve never been much of a poetry buff throughout my life so far.  But when I was looking at “Today I Die,” I took a different approach to it.  It was fascinating, and the required involvement of the reader did wonders in terms of keeping my attention and interest levels high.  I would actually go as far as to say that “Today I Die” is like the literature/poetry version of a video game.  Overall, I really enjoyed the new experience.

 

One thought on “Week 14: Video Games and Platform Studies

  1. Jonny StarWars…

    Wow! This could be one particular of the most beneficial blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Excellent. I’m also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your effort….

Leave a Reply

