Intellectual Introduction: Alex Wade

I am just beginning my junior year of college yet in a way it feels like my freshman year again. I have switched my major from Biology to English and the change is more jarring than I had anticipated. Going from writing lab reports about the genetics of flies to writing 13 page papers about women in Gothic literature is a big switch but one I have enjoyed and would highly recommend. When we remember ancient cultures we do not immediately remember their bustling economy or their scientific advances. What we remember is their art, literature, and architecture. The beautiful things in this world capture a moment in time and are worth studying.

My favorite book is Frankenstein by Mary Shelly and my favorite short work is A Modest Proposal by Jonathon Swift. My favorite authors are Charles Bukowski, Kurt Vonnegut, HP Lovecraft, and Edgar Allen Poe (I know it’s cliche). I have a dark humor when I write so these artists have been the biggest influence and inspiration for my own writing.

Leave a Reply

