Intellectual Introduction: Wolfgang Ofstedal

I am an incoming freshman from Minnesota studying petroleum engineering with a minor in Spanish. All my life, I’ve been interested in how things work. Whether it be a computer or robots or flying machines, I’ve wanted to know how they function. This is why I have been interested in the sciences, and joined a science research program at my school where I worked in a laboratory for two summers. This is also the reason why I am studying engineering, because I want to study the properties that govern this world, and petroleum just happened to be the subset that TU does best. I also realize that really, just knowing how things work is useless. What I am really interested in, is what I can do in this world. How do things work, and how can I use that knowledge to improve them or make change.

Leave a Reply

