“Trees of Gold” the feminist power of beauty

In the “Trees of Gold” Rebecca describes her journeys and how she remembers them. Wherever she goes she collects a new toothbrush . These toothbrushes are used to catalog her life in a way, as she states that she will have to keep them until she finishes with her autobiography. From this she goes into describe all the places that she has been and the beauty that she has seen. Much like the romantic period she utilizes a vast range of personification to give life to the beauty of nature all around here. At first I did not see how this could be possibly feminist, yet as she continues she ties it back in to how the beauty of oneself should be embraced. That the women of culture should not need to hide themselves, and truly embrace who they are. This beauty is god-given and natural just as the rest of the world, yet why then would god-fearing people reject it? To this end is why Rebecca feels that she is strong in herself and her convictions, that god sanctioned them to be so then that is how it shall be.

Sorry everyone apparently i posted this on my other account yesterday

3 thoughts on ““Trees of Gold” the feminist power of beauty

  1. It is extremely interesting to me that you picked up on more of the later words in the piece, while my interests lied toward the beginning. I agree and understand each point you made, and appreciated the points about how present personification was and the underlying meaning of feminist was there, too. I, however, found the piece very captivating from the very start with the language that was used in the writing. One of my favorite lines is the second sentence, “for when I find myself consumed by any passion (which is usually rage) I fling myself out of London into some little place”. So much is happening in this one line it could be its very own story, yet it holds the article together. When they have upset moments, or moments of uneasy emotion, they put themselves in a different mindset and go somewhere quant that makes the present seem not so bad. To the end, a different message came from the story about being who you are and that being the best, yet I still believe that understanding the beginning helped me to understand the end as well.

  2. That’s a good description of it all. Personally, I found it all a bit hard to swallow. It may be my innate tendency to get lost in blocks of text, but I found myself having some trouble following the story. You’re spot on in connecting the beauty of nature to the beauty of one’s self, I’d say that was definitely the main draw of the story.

    I will say I found it a little…self-indulgent? I’m not certain that’s the word. I felt like I was listening to someone who had made a discovery that wasn’t very important, but the person felt like it was a monumental achievement. The entire just felt a little too self-praising for my liking, although given that this was written for a magazine with the purpose of empowering one’s own self in a spiritual manner, perhaps that was intentional?

  3. Much like amatherone I definitely had a difficult time following this text at certain points. The overall tone I seemed to glean was of self recognized beauty and uniqueness, but in a almost narcissistic manor. I think that part of what feminism should be is an understanding of the value and importance of every person, regardless of gender. Putting all humans on a intellectually and “rights” equal playing field. When I read this passage it seemed as if she was focused more on herself and so it was not very relateable at least to me. It is entirely possible that women reading this can identify and experience empathy/gain self awareness, however I did not find the same happening to me.

Leave a Reply

