Intellectual Introductions – Justin Sohl

Hi, I’m Justin. I’m a freshman Computer Science/Mechanical Engineering major(s). I can already tell from the first day of class that I’ll see technology in an entirely different light than I do today. I’ve had a lot of experience with computers and technology in general, certainly more than my parents ever had. I use mine for music, videos, games, and occasionally doing something productive.

As computers get more and more advanced I grow increasingly inspired. It’s amazing to see just how far we’ve come. The other night I was watching Steve Jobs announce the first iPhone and I couldn’t help but laugh out loud when he called the 3.5 inch screen “really big.” But as technology increases in complexity we find ourselves with some very hard questions. Ie: “If a self-driving car runs someone over, who is at fault?” In this class I hope we can appreciate the modern computer’s artistic combination of form and function and, hopefully, address the harder questions.

Leave a Reply

