Intellectual Introductions – Peter Robe

Hello everybody, my name is Peter Robe and I am a sophomore here majoring in Computer Science. I’m taking this class toward my degree. I’m curious what this class has to offer because I honestly don’t know what to expect. One of my main driving interest is curiosity and it’s also a big reason why I’m a Computer Science major. I’ve always been curious how hardware and 1’s and 0’s translates to complex programs like games or operating systems. When I’m interesting in something, I like to dig deeper to understand how it works like computers, game design, or even language and culture.

Another interest I have is Artificial Intelligence and I think it ties into the questions of the class like, “what does it mean to be human?” I recently watched the movie Ex Machina which was an excellent movie and a good analysis on some important questions in the field. If what makes us human is our consciousness and sense of individuality, then how do we define human when AI’s are capable of such thought.

 

 

Leave a Reply

